Skip to Main Content

IFR Faculty

Dr. Mary Stuart is Professor and Director of UMBC’s Health Administration and Policy Program, Research Investigator for the Department of Veterans Affairs, and formerly Director of Policy for the Maryland Department of Health. She has a Doctor of Science from the Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health.

Dr. Michael Weinrich is a physician and scientist in Bethesda, Maryland. His career has spanned neuroscience, clinical rehabilitation, research administration, and biophysics. Current research includes the molecular mechanism of anesthesia. He received his AB and MD from Harvard University.

Dr. Joby Taylor is Director of the Shriver Peaceworker Program at UMBC and received his PhD in Language, Literacy, and Culture from UMBC. He has led service-learning programs in many urban and international settings.

Dr. William Shewbridge is Professor of the Practice in Media & Communication Studies and Executive Producer of the New Media Studio at UMBC.

Ms. Katie Birger is a lecturer in the UMBC Health Administration Program, and Coordinator of the UMBC International Field Research Program and has over 15 years experience teaching fitness, yoga, and stress reduction techniques. She is certified through AFAA, registered with Yoga Alliance, and received her MA from UMBC in Applied Sociology.

Ms. Janet McGlynn has worked with UMBC students on undergraduate research opportunities for seven years. She has a Master’s degree in Administrative Science (Management) and experience leading and developing small businesses in both the for-profit and non-profit sectors.